You Can Now Use Twitter In Four More Indian Languages |

You Can Now Use Twitter In Four More Indian Languages

Earlier, Twitter allowed its users to Tweet in two Indian languages Hindi and Bengali.


Twitter has announced through its latest blogpost that the popular micro-blogging site would be available in Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi and Tamil on the web and Android. However, earlier, Twitter supported Bengali and Hindi.

This move by Twitter comes in sync when smartphone companies are coming up with low-priced smartphone supporting Indian languages like Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit, Nepali, Bengali, Kannada, Tamil, etc.

It looks like Twitter might be taking cues from Facebook and Google who have been offering their websites and services in more than 10 different Indian languages.

Also, with this move, Twitter is probably expecting big things from India as the numbers of users continue to grow in the country.

Twitter's latest blogpost also tells that the four new languages were translated partially by Twitter's Translation center.

[Read Also: Twitter Raises Direct Message Character Limit To 10,000 Characters]

Having said this, one thing that comes to our mind is - How to tweet using regional Indian languages? Well, you need simply select the language of your choice from 'Settings' in the drop down menu on the profile.

However, if you are an Android user, you simply have to change the language settings on your mobile devices to any of these four languages and you are all set to tweet in the language of your choice.

To recap, Twitter recently updates its app for iOS and also released a new Windows 10 app bringing in the live tiles, ability to upload multiple photos, support for animated GIFs, vine playback and sharing photos privately via Direct Messages.

[Also Read: Twitter Removes Custom Backgrounds And It Might Be Permanent]

TAGS: Twitter, Android